Halla Tomasdottir Emerges President Of Iceland

Halla Tomasdottir Emerges President Of Iceland
Halla Tomasdottir Emerges President Of Iceland

In a decisive victory, Halla Tomasdottir, an accomplished businesswoman and the Chief Executive Officer of The B Team, has emerged as the newly elected President of Iceland, overtaking former Prime Minister Katrin Jakobsdottir in the nation’s presidential contest.

Garnering 34.3% of the votes against Jakobsdottir’s 25.5%, Tomasdottir is set to take over from Gudni Johannesson, who opted not to pursue re-election after holding the presidential office since 2016.

The Icelandic presidency, while primarily symbolic in its roles, holds significant authority in matters such as the veto of legislation and the decision to call for referendums.

Jakobsdottir, stepping away from her role as Prime Minister in April with aspirations for the presidency, acknowledged her defeat early Sunday, extending her congratulations to Tomasdottir.

READ MORE: Uganda Implements Ban On TBAs To Reduce Maternal, Newborn Deaths

Tomasdottir, aged 55 and a previous contender in the 2016 presidential race, saw a surge in support as the campaign neared its conclusion. Her election as president marks her as the second woman to occupy Iceland’s presidential seat, following Vigdis Finnbogadottir who made history in 1980 as the first woman democratically elected as a Head of State globally.

Beyond her imminent presidency, Tomasdottir is recognized for her leadership of The B Team, a global non-profit initiative co-founded by entrepreneur Richard Branson. The organization is dedicated to advocating for humane and environmentally conscious business practices. Additionally, she is the founder of Audur Capital, an investment firm established in 2007 with the goal of integrating feminine values into the financial industry.

Tomasdottir is poised to assume her presidential duties on August 1, 2024, heralding a new chapter in Iceland’s history.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

twenty + 18 =