NEC Ratifies Appointment Of Six Gov’s To Serve On Board Of NDPHC

NEC Ratifies Appointment Of Six Gov's To Serve On Board Of NDPHC
NEC Ratifies Appointment Of Six Gov's To Serve On Board Of NDPHCNEC Ratifies Appointment Of Six Gov's To Serve On Board Of NDPHC

The National Economic Council (NEC) has ratified the selection of six state governors to serve on the Board of the Niger Delta Power Holding Company (NDPHC), representing the six geopolitical zones: Borno, Katsina, Imo, Ekiti, Kwara, and Akwa Ibom. The NEC underscored the crucial role of NDPHC in the nation’s economic advancement while endorsing these appointments.

This decision was disclosed in a press release following the 142nd NEC meeting, presided over by Vice President Kashim Shettima, where significant updates and recommendations from various ad hoc committees were deliberated.

Governors Appointed to NDPHC Board by NEC

Governor Ahmed Usman Ododo of Kogi State presented the report from the Ad Hoc Committee on Flood, Erosion, Drought, and Desertification, advocating for the reinforcement of State Emergency Management Agencies (SEMAs) and improved intergovernmental coordination.

The Council mandated a strategic meeting on Monday involving the Vice President, Minister of Finance, Coordinating Minister of the Economy, Minister of Agriculture, Minister of Water Resources, and Minister of Budget and Economic Planning to devise funding strategies addressing climate challenges faced by states. The outcomes will be presented to the President on Tuesday.

READ MORE: Senate President Denies Proposal For New Aircraft For Tinubu

Additionally, the Council endorsed the committee’s recommendations and allocated funds to states and relevant Ministries, Departments, and Agencies (MDAs) to address these pressing issues.

Governor Alhaji AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq of Kwara State, leading the NEC Ad-Hoc Committee on Economic Affairs, was tasked with aligning its objectives with the National Economic Management Team (NEMT) to develop comprehensive solutions to the nation’s economic hurdles. The committee is actively collaborating with states to tackle issues related to foreign exchange loan facilities and fuel pricing.

Under the leadership of Governor Hope Uzodinma of Imo State, the Ad-Hoc Committee on Crude Oil Theft Prevention and Control presented interim recommendations aimed at enhancing security at oil and gas terminals and strengthening regulatory oversight in the sector. Governor Seyi Makinde of Oyo State was appointed as a subject matter expert, with the committee directed to submit its final report within one month.

The Council was updated on discussions regarding the establishment of state police, urging states to expedite their submissions on the matter.

Vice President Shettima announced the presidential endorsement for the operationalization of the Presidential


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

2 × four =