The Senate approved the reappointment of seven ICPC commissioners


The Senate on Tuesday approved the nomination of seven National Commissioners of the Independent Corrupt Practices and other Related Offences Commission (ICPC) for reappointment.

President Muhammadu Buhari last Tuesday urged the Senate to consider and approve seven people for reappointment.

Buhari’s request was made in a letter read out by the President of the Senate, Ahmad Lawan, during the session of the Assembly in Abuja.

The letter reads in part: “In accordance with Section 3(3) and (7) of the Corrupt Practices ans Other Related Offences Act 2000, I write to forward for confirmation by the Senate the under-listed names of seven (7) persons for reappointment as members of the Independent Corrupt Practices and other Related Offences Commission (ICPC).”

READ MORE: Mobile internet users up by 12.5% in 2022 in Egypt: CAPMAS

The names of the National Commissioners of the ICPC confirmation for reappointment include Justice Adamu Bello (rtd) from Katsina State to represent North West, Hannatu Mohammed (Jigawa state) to represent North West, Mrs. Olubukola Balogun (rtd) from Lagos State to represent South West and Dr. Grace Nkechiyere Chinda from Delta State to represent South-South.

Others are Barr. Obiora Samuel Igwedibia from Anambra state to represent South East, Abdullahi Maikano from Niger state to represent North Central and Prince Dauda Yahaya Umar from Nasarawa state to represent North Central, in the commission.

The confirmation of the seven nominees followed the consideration of the report of the Senate Committee on Anti-corruption and Financial Crimes.

The Chairman of the Committee, Senator Suleiman Abdu Kwari (APC – Kaduna North) in his presentation recommended that the nominees be approved.

Senators approved that the nominee be confirmed when their nomination was put to vote by Senate President Ahmad Lawan.










Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

5 × two =