Sokoto Election: APC Extends Lead In 10 LGAs With 21,000 Votes

The All Progressives Congress in Sokoto has extended its lead with 21,200 votes from 10 out of the 23 local government areas of the state in the governorship election.

According to the results so far declared by the Independent National Electoral Commission at its collation centre in Sokoto on Sunday, the party had garnered 154,631 votes against the People’s Democratic Party which scored a total number of 133,431 votes.

The breakdown of the results showed that the APC won in eight local government areas including Binji, Wurno, Yabo, Gwadabawa, Rabbah, Bodinga, Tangaza and Kware.

READ MORE: Don’t Let Lagos Be On Fire, LP Aspirant Gbedebo urges INEC, Police

The ruling PDP in the state is howbeit taking lead in only two local government areas of the 10 declared so far, Tureta and Isa.

The collation of the results was suspended till 4:30pm by the acting Resident Electoral Commissioner, Hauwa Kangiwa.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

2 + seven =